FEBS Medals

FEBS awards three medals for outstanding achievements in biochemistry and molecular biology or related sciences to distinguished senior scientists: the Sir Hans Krebs medal, the Theodor Bücher medal and the Datta medal.

The awardees deliver plenary lectures at the FEBS Congress, and contribute review articles based on their lectures to The FEBS Journal and FEBS Letters. For further details, including the names of the most recent recipients, see the Medals webpage.

FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award

The FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award (a statuette and €10,000) highlights the major contributions made by female scientists to life sciences research. Winners of the award will serve as inspiring role models for future generations of women in science. The award is presented at the annual FEBS Congress, where the awardee delivers a special plenary lecture. For more details, see the FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award page.

FEBS Anniversary Prizes

FEBS Anniversary Prizes of the Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie were initiated for the 10th anniversary of FEBS by generous capital gifts from Boehringer Mannheim GmbH and Eppendorf AG. They are awarded for outstanding achievements in the field of biochemistry and molecular biology or related sciences. The awardees are selected from researchers under 40 years of age invited to give a lecture at one of the symposia or workshops held during a FEBS Congress and who are from within the FEBS area but not the Congress host country. The prize administration is managed by both FEBS and the Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie (GBM), and up to two Anniversary Prizes of €2000 and a certificate are awarded each year.

For details of the latest winners, see the FEBS Anniversary Prize announcement.

FEBS Press Awards

The FEBS Journal Richard Perham Prize and the FEBS Letters Award are annual prizes of €5000 awarded by each journal to key author(s) of an outstanding paper published in the journal in the preceding year.

The FEBS Open Bio Article Prize is  awarded annually to an early-career researcher who is the first author of an important paper published in FEBS Open Bio in the preceding year. The prize is a bursary to allow the winner to attend the next FEBS Congress.

More information on these awards, and additional journal prizes such as poster prizes, can be found on the FEBS Press awards page.

FEBS Diplôme d’Honneur

The FEBS Diplôme d’Honneur was instituted on the 10th anniversary of FEBS to honour biochemists and molecular biologists who have given outstanding service to FEBS, and is awarded at the FEBS Congress. Past recipients are listed here.

FEBS National Lecture Awards

Established to commemorate the 40th anniversary of FEBS, FEBS National Lectures Awards recognize the achievements of distinguished scientists with significant international reputations while at the same time enhancing national scientific meetings of FEBS Constituent Societies by supporting travel costs for such speakers. Starting from 2015, the FEBS National Lecturer will be presented with an engraved glass award at the meeting. Full further details, see the FEBS National Lectures guidelines.