The FEBS Working Group on Women in Science (WISE) was established in 2001. Its main objective is to facilitate awareness on the issue of Women in Science, to encourage people to participate actively in promoting gender equality in science, and to support the Constituent Societies of FEBS and academic institutions in FEBS countries on the issue of Women in Science.

For several years, the Working Group has organized workshops on topics related to gender issues in science at FEBS Congresses, as well as a lunch for young female scientists to discuss career-related issues with senior scientists there. In addition, each year FEBS and EMBO work together to select one outstanding female scientist for the FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award. The award highlights the major contributions made by female scientists to life sciences research and winners are inspiring role models for future generations of women in science. The award is presented at the annual FEBS Congress, where the awardee delivers a special plenary lecture. More details about the FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award, including the annual nomination call, are given in the Prizes section of the FEBS website.

FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award recipients

2024: Anne Ephrussi
2023: Sarah Teichmann
2022: Erin Schuman
2021: Molly Stevens
2020: Elly Tanaka
2019: Sara Linse
2018: Frauke Melchior
2017: Ottoline Leyser
2016: Fiona Watt
2015: Caroline Dean
2014: Pascale Cossart
2013: Geneviève Almouzni
2012: Susan Gasser
2011: Carol Robinson
2010: Ingrid Grummt
2009: Anne Houdusse
2008: Naama Barkai

To contact the Working Group Chair, Prof. Caroline Dean, please use the Contact section of the website.