The FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award is a joint initiative of FEBS and EMBO. Launched in 2007, the aim of the award is to highlight the major contributions made by female scientists to life sciences research. Winners of the award will serve as inspiring role models for future generations of women in science.

Each year an individual woman working in the life sciences will be recognized for her exceptional achievements. The winner will be honoured at the annual FEBS Congress, where she will receive a prize of €10,000 and a statuette*, and present a special plenary lecture.


The winner of the 2024 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award is Anne Ephrussi (emerita of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany); see the press release in the news section of the website to read about her selection and career. Recent winners were Sarah Teichmann (2023), Erin Schuman (2022), Molly Stevens (2021), Elly Tanaka (2020) and Sara Linse (2019). A full list of past awardees can be found here.

Nomination and selection

Nominees should be female scientists working in an EMBC Member State or FEBS member country, who have made outstanding contributions to life sciences research and significantly advanced our understanding of a particular discipline in the last five years in Europe. The award is generally not meant to be for lifetime achievements. Their research can cover any area of the life sciences including agricultural and biomedical research.

Nominations for the 2025 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award

Nominations for the 2025 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award will close on 15 May 2024.

  • The following documents are required: (1) the filled FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Nomination Form, (2) letters of support from two other scientists, and (3) the nominee’s CV (max. three pages, including list of most relevant publications).
  • The nomination form asks the nominator to give details of the nominee’s contribution(s) to the field and describe any outstanding achievements. Please include evidence of international recognition, leadership and mentorship qualities, honours and awards, as well as any activities to support gender diversity in science. The committee finds it informative to have an overview of the candidate’s career, but is most interested in contributions within the last five years.
  • There is no requirement for the nominee, nominator or supporters to be associated with EMBO or FEBS.
  • Please submit the documents via the EMBO website here.

An award committee will evaluate the nominees and make the selection. The official announcement will be made via a press release prior to the FEBS Congress.

Award ceremony

Photograph of the FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award statuette ('Touching the Sun') The awardee is expected to receive the award in person at the FEBS Congress; exceptions can be made only under special circumstances, such as ill health. The recipient of the award is expected to give a plenary lecture at the FEBS Congress. During the award ceremony she will receive a cheque of €10,000 and a commemorative statuette. The awardee’s travel and accommodation will be covered.

For further information from FEBS concerning the FEBS | EMBO Women In Science Award and/or the nomination process, please contact the FEBS Women in Science Working Group Chair via the Contact section of the website.

*The FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award statuette (‘Touching the Sun’) was designed by Dutch sculptor Marloes Eerden [video link (in Dutch with English subtitles)].